About this Site

 Site Description

Phuket's guide mainly photo of its beaches and islands, the regions of Thailand further north, temples and ruins, but also Bangkok the capital. Reports also in Vientiane, Laos, Angkor, Cambodia and Bali, the island of the gods in Indonesia.

Also included on this site are News about Phuket and everyday life.

Who am I ?

I am a very common average Frenchman, living full time in Thailand since 1997 where I started my small family.

I spent the first part of my life in Strasbourg where I worked like everyone else. Unlike many who create blogs and have a fairly developed knowledge of the world, I didn't travel much before moving to Phuket.

Two stays in Madagascar and one in the Comoros Islands were my only holidays away from our metropolis, for the rest, my knowledge of the world is limited to Italy, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, England with a certain preference for the land of roast beef...

I met my wife in 1996. She already had two daughters, Dao and Dune, aged 6 and 7 at that time.

Our daughter Napha arrived with us in April 1998 and since then we have had peaceful days on an island that is certainly very busy but where the climate is fairly regular throughout the year and remains very pleasant.

The rainy season is sometimes quite difficult in the long run, but we deal with it... and then... we can't have everything either.

My Passions


Aviation is my oldest passion since I was a child (in the picture opposite, I was sitting on the rear wing of my father's plane in Hanoi, Vietnam, I was 3 years old). Even today, when I see a plane landing or taking off, I am as admiring as a child. My last dream... to travel in the A380. Those who do not have a passion for planes say "well, yes, nothing exceptional and this and that". For me, it is an incredible success and technological achievement, "enormous" "hallucinating"!

Airliners, the French patrol.

The photo, the video
The tennis I stopped in 2017 after 40 years of practice, rather in "diesel mode" and more rarely in the last years in Phuket (it is hot in Phuket)...

The English football I watch regularly on TV (and I don't care what everyone makes because if I had to take this detail into account, I wouldn't watch anything anymore) most sports have become professional..

Football, which I can no longer play for a long time and which was my first passion, alpine skiing, which I have completely forgotten since my arrival in Thailand, billiards, which I have always loved and played, unfortunately there is no French billiards here... I have therefore decided by necessity to join the 8 pool... which I now play assiduously. 

The music I don't play, but listen to: rock, folk, pop, blues, country, classical. My favorites...? Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, David Gilmour, and many others.

Computers and everything you can do with a computer

DIY in the house: painting, carpentry, electricity, building houses (which I did here, by the way) through all the stages (design, plans, site supervision), listening to people who have very interesting experiences and anecdotes to tell, in short, everything that can make me dream to the point of regretting not having done the same job as these people.

And then, it's so much more interesting than saying bad things about your neighbour....

One thing is certain: rich with all these anecdotes, it will help me to make a different choice and chart another course in my next life... who knows!

From time to time a good book that doesn't tend to put me to sleep, where I don't have to read a sentence twice to understand its meaning... but unfortunately, here in Thailand I read very little.

Why this Site ?


Having had a certain attraction (not to say passion) for photography for a long time, the arrival on the market of digital photography has upset everything and changed everyone's attitudes quite a bit.

In the past, with film, we used to take off with a few rolls of film. We would come back through the corner shop to have our pictures developed and then for the most patient and orderly, we would paste all our creations into albums designed for this purpose.

When digital technology first appeared, it gradually changed everyone's habits and revolutionized both the world of professionals and that of small amateurs.

No more worrying about the number of reels to be expected during a "photo trip", no more worrying about the sensitivity of the films to be expected, no more choosing between reel brands: (Kodak, Agfa and others whose shades were quite different according to the manufacturers), no more under-exposed photos because the film chosen was not sensitive enough or vice versa, and finally, no more expenses: purchase of reels, cost of developments in the shop, cost of albums.
If at the time we were limited in the number of photos due to the films in the bag, nowadays, it is enough to have enough memory cards once and for all and the scrap can become endless...

This number of photos growing with the return of each outing, also makes it necessary to be more and more ordered, to classify your photos on your computer in a very clear way, and not to hesitate to put in the basket everything that is bad. Not given to everyone.

My blog, precisely allowed me to make an important sorting in all these photos, and to make a sort by genre, by place, by time period etc... and moreover, to be able to access it from any computer in the world... pretty awesome, though. So why not allow everyone to visit my photo folders... and so why not add a few comments.

Could these photos, which are not pro photos, interest people...? Actually, I wasn't really wondering about it, but since Phuket and Thailand are very popular destinations, I quickly realized the growing number of visitors.

Over the months, this site, which I have named "Le Blog de Rainier", has started to get a good attendance, reaching about 6,000 visits per month and many messages of satisfaction and sympathy that are always very positive.

I got caught up in this game which, at the same time, motivated me to go out with my camera and do little reports here and there, on an island where I have had the chance to live for a few years and which offers magnificent landscapes.
So why not share all this? Why not show people living on the other side of the world how to live here, the beautiful corners, the islands, the dream beaches.

This has become the main purpose of this blog.
Before that, when I went looking for information on the net for specific places, I found a lot of interesting sites but not really what I wanted.
Many sites with poor quality photos, miles of text sometimes fun to read, sometimes boring, sometimes very interesting. So I wanted to do the opposite, i.e. propose many photos in larger formats, clearly visible and with very little text.

I am not a historian, nor a geologist, still less an archaeologist, so I leave the explanation-text part to others who do this very well and much better than I could do.

I sometimes add a link to a corresponding site that seems well written to me and that gives more information by completing my photos.
Over the past two years, the number of messages received has increased and the many encouragements are always welcome, I must admit.
I have no claim to photography and I don't think of myself as a photographer far from me that claim. This hobby is an interesting solitary activity that gives me some pleasure just like a friend who started playing guitar late, who trains every day for several hours and he too, I know, will never take himself for Eric Clapton.

Every day I see photos of much better quality than mine, but the pleasure I have in putting them online is very satisfying.

There is room for everyone on the web and there is no limit, and the number of blogs or sites has changed considerably over the past two to three years.

My discovery of Thailand


It seems that there is no such thing as chance... but that everything is traced. I have always shared this theory, but to use a common expression, I would still say that it was really by chance that I came to Thailand.

Arriving one evening in the clubhouse where I had been playing tennis for many years, two of my usual partners were firmly seated at the bar talking over a draught beer after their game. When one of them saw me coming, he laughed at me and said, "We're going to Thailand in February, are you coming with us?" And I, so dry, said, "Shucks... why not"
Until then, I had never been too interested in Thailand, I had a very vague idea of its location, but no more, so when I got home that same evening, I opened my dictionary to locate exactly this country that I didn't know at all...

From then on, everything would go on.

In February 1994, my first trip to Thailand with my two companions was necessarily a series of discoveries.

I remember the first night in Bangkok, fatigue and jet lag made me very anxious in this huge city that I didn't know. Everything scared me.

After we settled in our first hotel, a refreshing shower and a few beers in a noisy bar nearby, it was dark and dinner was already on,

Stunned and hungry, I only wanted one thing: a huge, rare steak with half a ton of fries to regain some strength, but what was my disillusionment... the steak was ridiculous, archi-cooked and the fries full of oil. The horror.

I was so disappointed that with the fatigue I had a really negative reaction by telling my two friends that I wasn't going to stay long in this country and that I was going to fly back to France the next day. Really, I didn't see myself staying here for a month... I'm still laughing about it!


After a good night's rest, morale improved. In the space of a few minutes, after meeting very smiling hotel staff and friendly taxi drivers, we set off to discover some of the city's splendours: the Grand Palais, Wat Pho, Wat Arun.... and some well known neighborhoods. Sure that the morale at that time was much better.

Well, a big city like Bangkok, noisy, polluted, huge and with an impressive urban traffic... it wasn't what I imagined to have fun on vacation.

Our programme was clear by mutual agreement: two or three days in Bangkok, then five or six days in Chiang-Mai before heading to Phuket.
72 hours after our landing in Bangkok, we arrived by train in Chiang Mai where we would stay a few days before reaching Phuket, which I had vaguely heard about.

Taking the train in Thailand, you have to do it at least once, and I must say that it was very exotic but also tiring. The landscapes, the folklore at stops in small towns with all the fruit sellers, the local dishes that took the train... it was really very attractive and fun.

We had chosen a random hotel in Chiang Mai with a large swimming pool, and the twelve hours of train that had exhausted us had not cut off our appetite, quite the contrary, we were even hungry.

Sitting by the pool with my fellow travellers, the real feeling of well-being in the land of smiles began "really" as we "attacked" our first real meal with a bottle of rosé wine cooled in an ice tray within reach.

The sound of the glasses as they toasted marked the beginning of a beautiful adventure that lasted a month. Often I think back with a certain nostalgia to this superb period.

My discovery of Thailand


After a few days in Chiang Mai, the three weeks we spent in Phuket were great I must say.

Everything was new. The discovery of bars and girls, the music in each bar that was as deafening as it was surprising, the magnificent beaches and the superb weather... in short, it was a little paradise.
The following year, I came back to Phuket, then the following year, then the following year.

On November 17, 1997: a new life began, all my counters were reset: I landed definitively, with just a suitcase, a backpack, my camera and some music CDs and since..... I'm there!

So is it chance... is it fate...? personally, I prefer the second hypothesis because I remain convinced that it had to be done!

The photo on the left: one of the first made in Phuket (Surin Beach).

"Blog"... "Site"... which term to choose?


I started building my blog without really knowing what I was getting into. If I had a good experience on a computer until then, the field of the Web for me was completely new and an unknown world.

Going through a well-organized platform with facilities, ready-made structures, with many design choices for the presentation, was a very practical solution for me and one that served me well I must admit.

So for two years I fed this blog several times a week with short reports made in the Phuket region. It must be said that it was quite easy, Phuket being very photogenic, it was quite easy to leave for a few hours and come back with dozens of photos.

As time went by, my blog slowly but surely turned into a "Web Site" but still kept a blog part.

What is the difference between a Blog and a Site...?

It's not very complicated.

A blog is like a newspaper: you add daily small articles about your life, your activity and all these small articles also called "posts" are automatically classified in reverse order of creation (the most recent at the top).

A site, on the other hand, looks more like a catalogue that you can consult as you wish, just as you would consult a paper catalogue. The advantage of the site over a paper catalogue is that the site can be updated and put back online without incurring the slightest cost and in a very short time. A private individual will not start creating a paper catalogue anyway, as the cost is far too high.

A site or blog, anyone can access it and anyone can do it, but you already need to use a computer, take an interest in it and be connected.
There are still many people who are not computer enthusiasts, but with a site on the net you will reach many more people around the world! For the net, it is well known, the notion of distance does not exist. Whether you send an email to your neighbour across the street or to your family 25,000 km away, it's the same thing.

The Wikipedia site explains precisely all the differences and origins between blogs and web sites: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog

June 2013: Destination Siam


The idea had been in my head for a while and finally, with those heavy rainy days in June that gave me the opportunity to spend a few hours reorganizing the site a little, and also to make some updates... I decided in the process to rename my site...

The name SIAM is more focused on the purpose of this site and I think this name is a little more appropriate.
Rainier's Blog has lived well and continues to live, but now here is DESTINATION SIAM! The two appellations work together!

The connection remains unchanged: "www.rainier.fr" and the principle of the structure in general, either.
I hope that despite this very small change, you will always enjoy coming back to visit me...

See you soon....


If you want to know more about my early years in Phuket,

I suggest you click on the button below

Flash Back

A Propos de ce Site

Description du Site

Guide essentiellement photo de Phuket de ses plages et de ses îles, les régions de Thaïlande plus au nord, des temples et des ruines, mais aussi Bangkok la capitale. Des reportages aussi à Vientiane au Laos, à Angkor au Cambodge et enfin à Bali l’île des Dieux en Indonésie.

Figurent également sur ce site des Infos sur Phuket et sur la vie de tous les jours.

Qui Suis-je ?

Je suis un français moyen tout ce qu'il y a de plus courant, installé à plein temps en Thaïlande depuis 1997 où j'ai fondé ma petite famille.

J'ai passé la première partie de ma vie à Strasbourg où j'ai travaillé comme tout le monde. Contrairement à beaucoup qui créent des blogs et ont une connaissance du monde assez développée, je n'ai pas voyagé énormément avant de m'installer à Phuket.

Deux séjours à Madagascar et un séjour aux îles Comores furent mes seules vacances loin de notre métropole, pour le reste, mes connaissances du monde se limitent à l'Italie, l'Espagne, l'Autriche, la Suisse, l'Angleterre avec une certaine préférence pour le pays des rosbifs...

J'ai connu mon épouse en 1996. Elle avait déjà deux filles Dao et Dune âgées à cette époque là, de 6 et 7 ans.

Notre fille Napha est arrivée parmi nous en avril 1998 et depuis, nous coulons des jours paisibles sur une île certes très fréquentée mais où le climat assez régulier tout au long de l'année reste vraiment très agréable.

La saison des pluies est par moments assez pénible à la longue, mais on fait avec.... et puis... on ne peut pas tout avoir non-plus.

Mes Passions

L'aviation qui est ma plus vieille passion depuis tout petit (sur la photo ci-contre, j'étais assis sur l'aileron arrière de l'avion de mon père à Hanoï au Viet-Nam, j'avais 3 ans). Encore aujourd'hui, lorsque je vois un avion se poser ou décoller, je suis admiratif comme un gosse. Mon dernier rêve... voyager en A380. Ceux qui n'ont pas la passion des avions, disent «bof, oui, rien d'exceptionnel et ci et ça». Pour moi, c'est une réussite et une prouesse technologique incroyable, «énorme» «hallucinante» comme dirait un certain Fabrice Luchini.

Les avions de ligne, la patrouille de France.

La photo, la vidéo

Le tennis que je pratique toujours mais plutôt en «mode diesel» et plus rarement (il fait chaud à Phuket)...

Le foot anglais que je regarde assidûment à la télé (et je me fous de ce que gagnent les uns et les autres car si je devais tenir compte de ce détail, je ne regarderai plus rien)

Le foot que je ne peux plus pratiquer depuis bien longtemps et qui fut ma première passion, le ski alpin que j'ai complètement oublié depuis ma venue en Thaïlande, le billard que j'ai toujours aimé et pratiqué, malheureusement il n'y a pas de billard français ici...

La musique que je ne pratique pas, mais que j'écoute: rock, folk, pop, blues, country, classique. Mes préférés...? Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, David Gilmour, et plein d'autres encore.

L'informatique et tout ce qu'on peut faire avec un ordinateur

Le bricolage dans la maison: peinture, menuiserie, électricité, construire des maisons (ce que j'ai fait ici d'ailleurs) en passant par tous les stades (conception, plans, suivis de chantier), écouter des gens qui ont des expériences et des anecdotes très intéressantes à raconter, bref, tout ce qui peut me faire rêver au point de regretter de ne pas avoir fait le même job que ces gens.


Et puis, c'est tellement plus intéressant que de dire du mal du voisin...

​Une chose est sûre: riche de toutes ces anecdotes, cela me servira à faire un choix différent et tracer une autre voie dans ma prochaine vie... allez savoir !

De temps à autres un bon livre qui n'a pas tendance à m'endormir, où je ne suis pas obligé de relire deux fois une phrase pour en comprendre le sens... mais malheureusement, ici en Thaïlande je lis très peu.

Pourquoi ce Site ?

Ayant une certaine attirance (pour ne pas dire passion) pour la photo depuis bien longtemps, l'arrivée sur le marché de la photo numérique a tout bouleversé et changé pas mal les attitudes de chacun.

Autrefois, avec l'argentique, on partait avec quelques bobines de films. On revenait en passant par la boutique du coin pour faire développer ses clichés et ensuite pour les plus patients et les plus ordonnés, on collait toutes ses réalisations dans des albums prévus à cet effet.

Lorsque le numérique a débarqué, il a changé au fur et à mesure les habitudes de chacun et a révolutionné aussi bien le monde des professionnels que celui des petits amateurs.

Fini le souci du nombre de bobines à prévoir lors d'un «virée photo», fini le souci de la sensibilité des films à prévoir, fini le choix entre des marques de bobines: (Kodak, Agfa et autres dont les teintes étaient bien différentes selon les fabricants), finies les photos sous-exposées parce que le film choisi n'était pas assez sensible ou inversement, et enfin, finies les dépenses: achat des bobines, coût des développements en boutique, coût des albums.

Si à l'époque on était limité en nombre de photos du aux pellicules se trouvant dans le sac, de nos jours, il suffit d'avoir suffisamment de cartes mémoires une fois pour toutes et la mitraille peut devenir sans fin...

Ce nombre de photos grandissant au retour de chaque sortie, fait aussi qu'il faut être de plus en plus ordonné, de classer ses photos sur son ordinateur de façon très claire, et de ne pas hésiter à mettre dans la corbeille tout ce qui est mauvais. Pas donné à tout le monde.

Mon blog, m'a permis justement de faire un tri important dans toutes ces photos, et de faire un tri par genre, par lieu, par époque etc... et de plus, de pouvoir y accéder depuis n'importe quel ordinateur dans le monde... assez génial tout de même. Du coup, pourquoi ne pas permettre à tout le monde de visiter mes dossiers photos... et donc pourquoi ne pas y ajouter quelques commentaires.

Est-ce que ces photos qui ne sont pas des photos de pro, pouvait intéresser les gens...? à vrai dire je ne me posais pas trop la question, mais vu que Phuket et la Thaïlande sont des destinations très prisées, je me suis très vite rendu compte de la fréquentation grandissante.

Au fil des mois, ce site que j'ai baptisé «Le Blog de Rainier» a commencé à obtenir une belle fréquentation, pour en arriver à environ 6.000 visites par mois et de nombreux messages de satisfaction et de sympathie toujours très positifs.

Je me suis laissé prendre à ce jeu qui, en même temps, me motivait pour sortir avec mon appareil photo et faire des petits reportages par-ci, par-là, sur une île où j'ai la chance de vivre depuis quelques années et qui offre des paysages magnifiques.

Alors pourquoi ne pas partager tout cela ? pourquoi ne pas montrer à des gens vivant à l'autre bout du monde la façon de vivre ici, les beaux coins, les îles, les plages de rêve.

C'est devenu le but essentiel de ce blog.

Avant cela, lorsque j'allais à la recherche de renseignements sur le net pour des endroits précis, je trouvais pas mal de sites intéressants mais pas vraiment ce que je voulais.

Beaucoup de sites avec des photos de qualité médiocre, des kilomètres de textes parfois amusants à lire, parfois ennuyeux, parfois très intéressants. J'avais donc envie de faire l'inverse, c'est à dire proposer de nombreuses photos dans des formats plus grands, bien visibles et avec très peu de texte.

Je ne suis pas historien, ni géologue, encore moins archéologue donc je laisse la partie explication-texte à d'autres qui font cela très bien et nettement mieux que je ne saurais le faire.

Il m'arrive d'ajouter un lien vers un site correspondant qui me paraît bien écrit et qui donne de plus amples informations en complétant mes photos.

Depuis deux ans, le nombre de messages reçus a été grandissant et les nombreux encouragements font toujours plaisir, je dois bien le reconnaître.

Je n'ai aucune prétention en matière de photo et je ne me prends pas pour un photographe loin de moi cette prétention. Ce passe-temps est une activité solitaire intéressante qui me procure un certain plaisir tout comme un ami qui s'est mis tard à jouer à la guitare, qui s'entraîne tous les jours pendant plusieurs heures et lui non-plus, je le sais, ne se prendra jamais pour Eric Clapton.

Je vois tous les jours des photos de bien meilleure qualité que les miennes, mais le plaisir que j'ai à les mettre en ligne me satisfait amplement.

Il y a de la place pour tout le monde sur le web et ce, sans limite, d'ailleurs le nombre de blogs ou de sites a considérablement évolué depuis environ deux à trois ans.

Ma découverte de la Thaïlande

Il paraît que le hasard n'existe pas... mais que tout est tracé. J'ai toujours partagé cette théorie, mais pour reprendre une expression courante, je dirais tout de même que c'est vraiment par hasard que je suis venu en Thaïlande.

Arrivant un soir dans le club-house où je pratiquais assidûment le tennis depuis de longues années, deux de mes partenaires habituels étaient solidement installés au bar à discuter autour d'une bière pression après leur partie. Me voyant arriver, l'un des deux me dit en rigolant «nous allons en Thaïlande en février, viens-tu avec nous?» et moi, aussi sec je réponds «chiche... pourquoi pas»

Jusque là, je ne m'étais jamais trop intéressé à la Thaïlande, j'avais une très vague idée de son emplacement, mais sans plus, si bien qu'en rentrant chez moi le soir même, j'ouvrais mon dictionnaire pour situer exactement ce pays que je ne connaissais pas du tout...

A partir de là, tout allait s'enchaîner.

En février 1994, mon premier voyage en Thaïlande avec mes deux compagnons fut forcément une succession de découvertes.

Je me souviens, le premier soir à Bangkok, fatigue et décalage horaire me rendirent bien anxieux dans cette immense ville que je ne connaissais pas. Tout me faisait peur.

Après notre installation dans notre premier hôtel, une douche réparatrice puis quelques bières dans un bar voisin hyper-bruyant, la nuit était tombée et c'était déjà l'heure de dîner,

Assommé et affamé, je n'avais envie que d'une chose: un énorme steak bien saignant avec une demi-tonne de frites histoire de reprendre quelques forces, mais quelle ne fut ma désillusion... le steak était ridicule, archi cuit et les frites pleines d'huile. L'horreur.

J'étais tellement déçu qu'avec la fatigue j'eu une réaction vraiment négative en disant à mes deux amis que je n'allais pas séjourner longtemps dans ce pays et que j'allais reprendre un avion pour rentrer en France le lendemain. Vraiment, je ne me voyais pas séjourner ici durant un mois... j'en rigole encore !

Golden Triangle

Après une bonne nuit de repos, le moral allait mieux. En l'espace de quelques minutes, à force de croiser du personnel d'hôtel très souriant, des chauffeurs de taxi aimables, nous partions à la découverte de quelques splendeurs de la ville: le Grand Palais, le Wat Pho, le Wat Arun... et de quelques quartiers bien réputés. Sûr que le moral à ce moment là, allait nettement mieux.

Bon, une grande ville comme Bangkok, bruyante, polluée, énorme et avec un trafic urbain impressionnant... ce n'était pas ce que j'imaginais pour m'éclater en vacances.

Notre programme d'un commun accord était clair: deux ou trois jours à Bangkok, puis cinq ou six jours à Chiang-Mai avant de nous rendre à Phuket.

72 heures après notre atterrissage à Bangkok, nous arrivions par le train à Chiang Mai où nous allions séjourner quelques jours avant de gagner Phuket dont j'avais vaguement entendu parler.

Prendre le train en Thaïlande, il faut le faire au moins une fois, et je dois dire que ce fut bien dépaysant mais fatiguant aussi. Les paysages, le folklore aux arrêts dans les petites villes avec tous les vendeurs de fruits, de petits plats locaux qui prenaient le train d'assaut... c'était vraiment très attractif et amusant.

Nous avions choisi un hôtel au hasard à Chiang Mai avec une grande piscine, et les douze heures de train qui nous avaient exténués ne nous avaient pas coupé notre appétit, bien au contraire, nous étions même affamés.

Installés avec mes compagnons de route au bord de la piscine, la véritable sensation de bien-être au pays du sourire commença « vraiment » au moment où nous « attaquions » notre premier vrai repas avec une bouteille de vin rosé refroidie dans un bac à glace à portée de main.

Le bruit des verres en trinquant marqua le début d'une belle aventure qui dura un mois. Souvent je repense avec une certaine nostalgie à cette superbe période.

A la Découverte de Phuket

Après quelques jours à Chiang Mai, les trois semaines que nous passâmes ensuite à Phuket furent géniales je dois bien le dire.

Tout était nouveau. La découverte des bars et des filles, la musique à fond aussi assourdissante que surprenante dans chaque bar, les plages magnifiques et le temps superbe...bref, c'était un petit paradis.

L'année suivante, je revenais à Phuket, puis l'année suivante, puis l'année suivante.

Le 17 novembre 1997: une nouvelle vie commençait, tous mes compteurs étaient remis à zéro: je débarquais définitivement, avec juste une valise, un sac à dos, mon appareil photo et quelques CD de musique et depuis.... j'y suis !

Alors est-ce le hasard... est-ce le destin...? personnellement, je penche plutôt pour la deuxième hypothèse car je reste convaincu, que cela devait se faire !

La Photo ci-contre: une des premières faites à Phuket (à Surin Beach).

​J'y tiens.

« Blog »... « Site »... quel terme choisir ?

J'ai commencé à monter mon blog sans trop savoir dans quoi je me lançais. Si j'avais jusque là une bonne expérience sur ordinateur, le domaine du Web pour moi, était complètement nouveau et un monde inconnu.

Le fait de passer par une plateforme bien organisée offrant des facilités, des structures toutes faites, avec de nombreux choix de design pour la présentation, fut une solution bien pratique pour moi et qui me rendit bien service je dois bien le reconnaître.

J'ai donc pendant deux ans alimenté ce blog plusieurs fois par semaine par des petits reportages faits dans la région de Phuket. Il faut dire que c''était assez facile, Phuket étant très photogénique, c'était assez facile de partir quelques heures et de revenir avec des dizaines de photos.

Au fur et à mesure du temps qui passait, mon blog a viré doucement mais sûrement sa cutie pour devenir plutôt un «Web Site» mais en conservant néanmoins une partie blog.

Quelle est la différence entre un Blog et un Site...?

Ce n'est pas très compliqué.

Un blog est comme un journal: vous y ajoutez quotidiennement des petits articles sur votre vie, votre activité et tous ces petits articles appelés aussi des « billets » sont classés automatiquement par ordre inverse de création (le plus récent en tête).

Un site par contre, ressemble plutôt à un catalogue que l'on consulte à sa guise comme on consulterait un catalogue papier. L'avantage du site par rapport à un catalogue papier est que le site peut être mis à jour et remis en ligne sans engager le moindre coût et dans un délai bien réduit. Un particulier de toute manière, ne se lancera pas dans la création d'un catalogue papier, le coût étant bien trop élevé.

Un site ou un blog, tout le monde peut y accéder et tout le monde peut en faire, mais il faut déjà utiliser un ordinateur, s'y intéresser quelque peu et être connecté.
Il y a encore beaucoup de gens qui ne sont pas des adeptes de l'ordinateur, mais avec un site sur le net vous toucherez bien plus de monde, à travers le monde ! Pour le net, c'est bien connu, la notion de distance n'existe pas. Que vous adressiez un émail à votre voisin en face de chez vous ou à votre famille à 25.000km, c'est la même chose.

Le site Wikipedia explique avec précision toutes les différences et les origines entre blogs et web sites: http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog

Juin 2013 : Destination Siam

L'idée me trottait depuis un moment dans la tête et finalement, avec ces journées de pluies abondantes de juin qui m'ont donné l'occasion de passer quelques heures à réorganiser quelque peu le site, et aussi d'effectuer certaines mises à jours... j'ai décidé dans la foulée de rebaptiser mon site...

Le nom de SIAM cible davantage le but de ce site et je pense que cette dénomination est un peu plus adaptée.

Le Blog de Rainier a bien vécu et continue de vivre, mais voici dorénavant DESTINATION SIAM ! Les deux appellations marchent de paire !


​La connection reste inchangée: "www.rainier.fr" et le principe de la structure en général, non-plus.

J'espère que malgré ce tout petit changement, vous aurez toujours plaisir à revenir me rendre visite...

A bientôt...

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur mes premières années passées à Phuket,

je vous propose de cliquer sur le bouton ci-dessous

Flash Back