Pura Ulun Danu on Lake Bratan

For my 4th day of intensive tourism on the island of Bali.... this time I have a driver from Seminyak, because the drop point today is more than 2h30 (55 km) away.

We are heading towards Lake Bratan located in the north of the island. Object of the visit: the famous Ulundanu temple which is on the edge of the lake. 

World famous image, that is to say my impatience to see this site with my own eyes.

The city is behind us... here, the traffic is a little more fluid

Sometimes you get stuck in a traffic jam due to a cremation ceremony...
All that remains is to wait and move forward to the rhythm of the procession

  Taman Ayun Temple


The Pura Taman Ayun Temple was built in 1634 and completely restored in 1937. It was the largest temple in the kingdom of Mengwi until its fall in 1891. It is dedicated to the deities of the mountains and forests.


... and there are certain rules to observe...


A small stopover in this temple located about twenty kilometers from our starting point....

Bali

We leave this temple behind and continue on our way to Lake Bratan

  Lake Bratan, Pura Unlun Danu Bratan

The superb Ulun Danu Bratan temple is located on a peninsula on the banks of the Bratan. This sacred volcanic lake plays a vital role in the irrigation of the region and for the south of the island. The religious complex is dedicated to the water goddess Dewi Danu.

The religious complex, built in 1633, consists of several temples on different islets. It is used as a place of Hindu worship on the one hand and as a place of Buddhist worship on the other, with the altar as the centre of all ceremonies. A closer look at the structure of the religious buildings gives the impression that the Ulun Danu Bratan Temple floats above the waters of Lake Bratan. The main temple, Pura Teratai Bang, has an imposing "Meru" with seven roofs, and on another small island stands a "Meru" with eleven roofs. Thanks to its architecture, Ulun Danu Bratan is a very popular temple and after the Tanah Lot, it is the most photographed temple in Bali.

The temple is located at an altitude of 1200 meters and surrounded by mountains, the temperature is very pleasant. The fact that there is often fog at this altitude, makes Ulun Danu a very mysterious atmosphere. The temple is less than an hour from the city of Ubud. To reach Lake Bratan and reach the temple, you have to take a bus up the slopes of the volcano, which is far from being a chore since the road, dotted with rice fields, deep lakes and picturesque villages, is captivating. The very fertile region around the mountain lake is a superb deep green.

I couldn't have come at a better time: I arrive in the middle of a ceremony for which I have no idea why.
Cremation? Birth? Wedding?

Anyway, it is the opportunity to take some typical photos, because it must be recognized, as beautiful as the location of this small temple so particular, 

So... this ceremony is just in time for me, so to speak.

  Near Lake Bratan...

I leave the small temple and its magnificent lake...

As I had spotted a small popular market when I arrived in the area, I wanted to take a few pictures: We find the same fruits as in Thailand... the same flowers, very pleasant salesmen always wearing a bright and spontaneous smile!

  All Articles about Bali

D1 - The Tanah Lot temple

1st Day (Morning): When I had spent my first moments of research on Bali on the net, I came across the TANAH LOT. I discovered some pictures of this temple built in the sea, accessible only at low tide. Needless to say, I was eager when I arrived in Bali to discover it and walk around.

D2 - Ubud

Day 2 (Morning): I had decided for my second outing to go for a walk on the Ubud side.
I fill up the motorbike, 17,000 ruphia ! impressive figures with a string of zeros at the end... and say that it's only 3 liters!
Well, come on, my headphones aimed in the ears, the headphones on top, and let's go for about two hours of driving...

D2 - Tagallalang

Day 2 (afternoon): After 2 hours on the road and almost 2 hours visiting this small village, I had a good, fresh Bintang. For the second part of the day, I decide to take a taxi driver to take me to the rice fields a little higher. I find one a priori nice and smiling (not hard to find, they are almost all nice), and ask him to take me first to a restaurant to eat a local "Nasigoreng"... he must know a place...

D3 - Uluwatu Cliffs

Day 3: To return a little towards the sea, my third day is devoted to visiting the breathtaking cliffs of Uluwatu. There too, I had seen some impressive photos here and there and I wanted to see this exceptional site... The distance not being enormous at most about twenty kilometers from my hotel in Seminyak, I leave for another day of discoveries...
It's sunny, it's hot... come on, let's go!

D4 - Pura Ulun Danu at Bratan Lake

Day 4 (Morning): To reach Lake Bratan, I left my motorbike in the hotel parking lot and it is with a private driver that I go to the shore of this lake constantly covered with threatening clouds at about 1000m altitude.
After 2h30 of travel, we reach the Beratan temple which is beautifully located by the lake.
There are, of course, countless tourists: I am one of them!

D4 - Jatiluwih

Day 4 (Afternoon): I had enjoyed the rice fields of Tagalalang 2 days earlier, but the tourist merry-go-round had left me a little hungry. Of course the colours and views were magnificent... I was heading for my 4th day, to Jatiluwih... another impressive site of terraced rice fields, absolutely magnificent.

D5 - Nusa Dua & Kuta

Day 5: I'm getting a little tired. All these days of movement, in addition to the heat and humidity, make me decide to take an easy walk to Nusa Dua, a complex of luxury hotels located on the East Coast, which I reach in less than an hour.

D6 - Golf at Tanah Lot

Day 6: Back to Thanah Lot where I will take a walk on the golf course next door. Walking on a golf course is always very pleasant, but today, I find myself on a golf course like no other!

Bali by Night

A few steps on the sidewalks of Seminyak and Kutaen early in the evening... nice bars, small shopping malls open late, smiling encounters

lundi 30 septembre 2013

Pura Ulun Danu sur le lac Bratan

Bali Pura Ulun Danu

Pour ma 4e journée de tourisme intensif sur l'île de Bali... j'ai cette fois-ci un chauffeur depuis Seminyak, car le point de chute aujourd'hui est à plus de 2h30 (55 km).

Nous nous dirigeons vers le lac Bratan situé au nord de l'île. Objet de la visite: le fameux temple Ulundanu qui est en bordure du lac. Image mondialement connue, c'est dire mon impatience de voir ce site de mes propres yeux.

Bali Pura Ulun Danu

La ville est derrière nous... ici, le trafic est un peu plus fluide

Bali Pura Ulun Danu

Parfois on se retrouve coincé dans un bouchon du à une cérémonie de crémation...
Il ne reste qu'à patienter et d'avancer au rythme du cortège

  Taman Ayun Temple

Bali Taman Ayun Temple

Le temple Pura Taman Ayun fût construit en 1634 et complètement restauré en 1937. C'était le plus grand temple du royaume de Mengwi jusqu'à la chute de celui-ci en 1891. Il est dédié aux divinités des montagnes et des forêts.

... et il y a certaines règles à observer...



Petite halte dans ce temple situé à une vingtaine de kilomètres de notre point de départ...

Bali

Nous laissons derrière nous ce temple et reprenons notre route vers le lac Bratan


  Lac Bratan, le Pura Unlun Danu Bratan


Le superbe temple Ulun Danu Bratan est situé sur une péninsule sur les berges du Bratan. Ce lac volcanique sacré, joue un rôle vital pour l'irrigation de la région et pour le sud de l'île. Le complexe religieux est dédié à la déesse des eaux Dewi Danu.

Le complexe religieux, construit en 1633, est constitué de plusieurs temples sur différents îlots. Il est utilisé comme lieu de culte hindouiste d'une part et comme lieu de culte bouddhiste d'autre part, avec l'autel pour centre de toutes les cérémonies. En regardant de plus près la structure des édifices religieux, on a l'impression que le temple Ulun Danu Bratan flotte au-dessus des eaux du lac Bratan. Le temple principal, Pura Teratai Bang, comporte un imposant « Méru » à sept toits, et sur une autre petite île se dresse un « Méru » à onze toits. Grâce à son architecture, Ulun Danu Bratan est un temple très prisé et après le Tanah Lot, c'est le temple de Bali le plus photographié.

Le temple étant situé à une altitude de 1200 mètres et entouré de montagnes, la température y est très agréable. Le fait qu'il y ait souvent du brouillard à cette altitude, fait qu'Ulun Danu dégage une atmosphère très mystérieuse. Le temple est à moins d'une heure de la ville d'Ubud. Pour arriver au Lac Bratan et atteindre le temple, il faut monter en bus les pentes du volcan, ce qui est loin d'être une corvée puisque la route parsemée de rizières, de profonds lacs et de villages pittoresques, est captivante. La région très fertile autour du lac de montagne est d'un superbe vert profond.

Je ne pouvais mieux tomber: j'arrive en pleine cérémonie dont je n'ai aucune idée de la raison.
Crémation ? Naissance ? Mariage ?
Peu importe, c'est l'occasion de faire quelques photos typiques, car il faut bien le reconnaître, aussi belle qu'est la situation de ce petit temple si particulier, 

Donc... cette cérémonie tombe à pic en ce qui me concerne, si on peut dire


  Près du Lac Bratan...


Je laisse le petit temple et son lac magnifique...

Comme j'avais repéré un petit marché populaire en arrivant dans le secteur, J'avais envie de faire quelques photos: On y retrouve les mêmes fruits qu'en Thaïlande... les mêmes fleurs, des vendeurs bien agréables arborant toujours un sourire éclatant et si spontané !

Bali

  Tous les Articles sur Bali

J1 - Le Temple Tanah Lot

1er Jour (Matin): Lorsque sur le net j'avais passé mes premiers moments de recherches concernant Bali, j'étais tombé sur le TANAH LOT. Je découvrais quelques photos de ce temple construit dans la mer, accessible uniquement à marée basse. Inutile de préciser que j'étais impatient à mon arrivée à Bali de le découvrir et de m'y promener.

J2 - Ubud

2e Jour (Matin): J'avais décidé pour ma seconde sortie d'aller me balader du côté de Ubud.
Je fais le plein de la motobike, 17.000 ruphia ! impressionnants ces chiffres avec une ribambelle de zéros à la fin... et dire que ce ne sont que 3 litres !
J2 - Bon, allez, mes écouteurs visés dans les oreilles, le casque par dessus, et c'est parti pour environ deux heures de route...

J2 - Tagallalang

2e Jour (après-midi): Après 2h de route et presque 2h de visite de ce petit village, je me tape une bonne Bintang bien fraîche. Pour la seconde partie de la journée, je décide de prendre un chauffeur-taxi pour m'amener dans les rizières un peu plus haut. J'en trouve un à priori sympa et souriant (pas dur à trouver, ils le sont pratiquement tous), et lui demande de m'amener d'abord dans un restaurant pour manger un «Nasigoreng» local... il doit forcément connaître un endroit...

J3 - Uluwatu Cliffs

3e Jour: Pour revenir un peu vers le mer, ma 3e journée est consacrée à la visite des falaises vertigineuses de Uluwatu. Là aussi, j'avais aperçu quelques photos impressionnantes par-ci par-là et je tenais à voir ce site exceptionnel... La distance n'étant pas énorme tout au plus une vingtaine de kilomètres depuis mon hôtel à Seminyak, je pars pour une nouvelle journée de découvertes...
Il fait beau, il fait chaud... allez, on y va !

J4 - Pura Ulun Danu au lac Bratan

4e Jour (Matin): Pour rejoindre le lac de Bratan, j'ai laissé mon motobike sur le parking de l'hôtel et c'est avec un chauffeur privé que je me rends au bord de ce lac constamment couvert de nuages menaçants à environ 1000m d'altitude.
Après 2h30 de trajet, nous atteignons le temple Beratan qui est magnifiquement disposé en bordure du lac.
Les touristes, bien entendu, sont innombrables: j'en fais partie !

J4 - Jatiluwih

4e Jour (Après-Midi): Les rizières de Tagalalang 2 jours plus tôt m'avaient énormément plu, mais le manège touristique m'avait un peu laissé sur ma faim. Bien entendu les couleurs et les vues, étaient magnifiques... je me dirigeais pour mon 4e jour, vers Jatiluwih... un autre site impressionnant de rizières étagées en terrasses, absolument magnifique.

J5 - Nusa Dua & Kuta

5e Jour: Je commence à fatiguer un peu. Toutes ces journées à bouger, en plus de la chaleur et l'humidité, me décident à faire une balade facile jusqu'à Nusa Dua, un complexe d'hôtels de luxe situé sur la côte Est, que j'atteints en moins d'une heure.

J6 - Golf à Tanah Lot

6e Jour: Retour à Thanah Lot ou je vais faire une balade sur le parcours de golf situé juste à côté. Se promener sur un parcours de golf est toujours bien agréable, mais aujourd'hui, je me retrouve sur un golf pas comme les autres !

Bali by Night

Quelques pas sur les trottoirs de Seminyak et de Kutaen début de soirée... des bars sympa, des petits centres commerciaux ouverts tard, des rencontres souriantes

lundi 30 septembre 2013