The Chickungunya

 Dengue and chikungunya epidemics in Thailand....

In Thailand, health authorities have reported an increase in the incidence of dengue fever and chikungunya in the country.

A. Dengue fever

From 1 January to 10 December 2018, Thai health authorities reported 80,065 cases of dengue fever, including 107 deaths, in the country's 77 provinces. This represents a 50% increase over the same period in 2017.

The five highest morbidity rates come from Nakhon Pathom province (321 cases per 100,000 population), Nakon Sawan province (258 cases per 100,000 population), Nakhon SI Thammarat province (245 cases per 100,000 population), Nakhon Nayok province (232 cases per 100,000 population), Chiang Rai province (230 cases per 100,000 population).

B. The chikungunya

In the southern provinces of Thailand in one month, the number of cases quadrupled from 538 to 2,143 by December 10, 2018.

No deaths have been reported.

In 13 provinces cases were reported. Songkla province, Satun province, Narathiwat province, Pattani province and Phuket province report the highest incidence.

The number of Chikungunya virus infections is increasing, particularly in densely populated areas.

C. Advice to travellers

There is no specific treatment against these viruses. For European tourists, the prevention of dengue fever and chikungunya therefore requires the control of the vector Aedes albopictus. The most effective way to control this mosquito is to eliminate its nesting sites (saucers, small containers, waste, tanks, vases, tires, etc.).

Travellers are advised to protect themselves from mosquito bites. The usual vector control measures should be followed:

wearing covering clothing;

mosquito repellents, containing DEET, on exposed skin;
insecticide-treated clothing and mosquito nets for napping and sleeping;

people using sunscreen should apply the repellent 20 minutes after the sunscreen.

In order to avoid as much as possible the spread of the dengue fever virus in metropolitan France, in the face of sudden onset fever and joint or muscle pain within 15 days of returning from a trip to a high-risk area, you should consult your doctor as soon as possible and report your trip.

Source : Outbreak News Today.
www.mesvaccins.net

Have your place of stay "cleaned"

 The Chikungunya - Explanation


Chikungunya is a mosquito-borne viral disease first described during an outbreak in southern Tanzania in 1952. It is an alphavirus of the Togaviridae family. The name "chikungunya" comes from a verb in the Kimakonde language that means "to become twisted", which describes the arched appearance of those who suffer from joint pain. The virus can cause acute, subacute or chronic illness.
Chikungunya is characterized by the sudden onset of fever, often accompanied by arthralgia. Other common signs and symptoms include myalgia, headache, nausea, fatigue and rash. Arthralgia is often disabling, but it usually disappears after a few days or weeks. Most patients recover completely, but in some cases arthralgia can persist for several months or even years.
Occasional cases of eye, neurological and cardiac complications, as well as gastrointestinal pain, have been reported. Serious complications are not common, but in the elderly the disease can contribute to the cause of death. Symptoms are often mild in infected people and the infection may go unnoticed or be misdiagnosed in areas with dengue fever.

Transmission

Chikungunya has been identified in about sixty countries in Asia, Africa, Europe, but also in the Americas.
The virus is transmitted from one human being to another by the bites of infected female mosquitoes. The mosquitoes implicated are most often Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus, 2 species that can also transmit other viruses, including dengue fever. These mosquitoes are likely to bite during the day, although their maximum activity is mostly in the early morning and late afternoon. Both species sting outdoors, but Ae. aegypti also likes to sting indoors.
The disease usually appears between 4 and 8 days after being bitten by an infected mosquito, but the range can be from 2 to 14 days.

Processing

There is no specific drug to cure the disease. The main goal of treatment is to reduce symptoms, including arthralgia, with antipyretics, analgesics and optimal fluid intake.
Prevention and control

The presence of mosquito vector breeding sites near residential areas is a serious risk factor for chikungunya and other diseases transmitted by these species. Prevention and control rely to a large extent on reducing the number of natural and artificial water containers that support mosquito breeding. This requires the mobilization of affected communities. During outbreaks, insecticides can be sprayed to kill mosquitoes, by applying them to surfaces inside and around containers where mosquitoes land, and by treating the water in these containers to kill larvae.

To protect against chikungunya outbreaks, it is recommended to wear clothing that covers the body as much as possible and to apply a repellent to exposed areas or clothing in accordance with the instructions accompanying the product. The repellents must contain DEET (N, N-diethyl-3-methylbenzamide), IR3535 (3-[N-acetyl-N-butyl]-aminopropionic acid ethyl ester) or icaridine (1-piperidinecarboxylic acid, 2-(2-hydroxyethyl)--1-methylpropylester). For those who sleep during the day, especially young children or sick or elderly people, insecticide-treated nets provide good protection. Mosquito spirals or other insecticide sprays can also reduce the number of bites inside buildings.

People travelling in high-risk areas should take basic precautions, including using repellents, wearing long-sleeved clothing and pants, and checking that rooms are equipped with mosquito nets to prevent mosquitoes from entering them.

Prevention and control

The presence of mosquito vector breeding sites near residential areas is a serious risk factor for chikungunya and other diseases transmitted by these species. Prevention and control rely to a large extent on reducing the number of natural and artificial water containers that support mosquito breeding. This requires the mobilization of affected communities. During outbreaks, insecticides can be sprayed to kill mosquitoes, by applying them to surfaces inside and around containers where mosquitoes land, and by treating the water in these containers to kill larvae.

To protect against chikungunya outbreaks, it is recommended to wear clothing that covers the body as much as possible and to apply a repellent to exposed areas or clothing in accordance with the instructions accompanying the product. The repellents must contain DEET (N, N-diethyl-3-methylbenzamide), IR3535 (3-[N-acetyl-N-butyl]-aminopropionic acid ethyl ester) or icaridine (1-piperidinecarboxylic acid, 2-(2-hydroxyethyl)--1-methylpropylester). For those who sleep during the day, especially young children or sick or elderly people, insecticide-treated nets provide good protection. Mosquito spirals or other insecticide sprays can also reduce the number of bites inside buildings.

People travelling in high-risk areas should take basic precautions, including using repellents, wearing long-sleeved clothing and pants, and checking that rooms are equipped with mosquito nets to prevent mosquitoes from entering them.
Epidemic outbreaks

Chikungunya occurs in Africa, Asia and the Indian subcontinent. Human infections in Africa remained at relatively low levels for a number of years, but in 1999-2000 a major outbreak occurred in the Democratic Republic of Congo and in 2007 an outbreak occurred in Gabon.
From February 2005, a major outbreak of chikungunya occurred in the islands of the Indian Ocean. A large number of cases imported into Europe were attributed to this outbreak, most of them in 2006 when the Indian Ocean epidemic was at its height. A major outbreak of chikungunya occurred in India in 2006 and 2007. Several other countries in Southeast Asia were also affected. Since 2005, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar and Thailand have reported 1.9 million cases.

In 2007, transmission of the disease was reported for the first time in Europe, during a localized outbreak in northeastern Italy, in which 197 cases were reported, and which confirmed that outbreaks due to the Ae. albopictus mosquito could very well occur in Europe.

In December 2013, France reported 2 laboratory-confirmed indigenous cases (indigenous) of chikungunya in the French part of the Caribbean island of Saint Martin. Since then, local transmission has been confirmed in more than 43 countries and territories in the Americas. This was the first documented outbreak of chikungunya by indigenous transmission in this region.

As of April 2015, more than 1,379,788 suspected cases of chikungunya had been reported in the Caribbean, Latin American countries and the United States of America. 191 deaths were also attributed to this disease during the same period. Canada, Mexico and the United States have also identified imported cases.

On 21 October 2014, France confirmed 4 cases of chikungunya infection contracted locally in Montpellier (France). In late 2014, outbreaks were reported in the Pacific Islands. An outbreak of chikungunya was recorded in the Cook Islands and Marshall Islands, while the number of cases in American Samoa, French Polynesia, Kiribati and Samoa decreased. WHO responded to small outbreaks of chikungunya in late 2015 in Dakar, Senegal, and Punjab State, India.

In the Americas in 2015, 693,489 suspected cases and 37,480 confirmed cases of chikungunya were reported to the Pan American Health Organization, with the WHO Regional Office, with Colombia bearing the heaviest burden with 356,079 cases. However, this was lower than in 2014, when there were more than 1 million cases in the region.

In 2016, there were a total of 349,936 suspected cases and 146,914 laboratory-confirmed cases reported to the PAHO Regional Office, half the burden observed the previous year. The countries with the highest number of reported cases were Brazil (265,000 suspected cases), Bolivia and Colombia (19,000 suspected cases each). Indigenous transmission of chikungunya in Argentina was first reported in 2016 following an outbreak of more than 1000 suspected cases. In the Africa Region, Kenya reported an outbreak of chikungunya with more than 1700 suspected cases. In 2017, Pakistan continues to respond to an outbreak that began in 2016.

À propos des vecteurs de la maladie

Tant Ae. aegypti que Ae. albopictus ont été mis en cause dans les flambées importantes de chikungunya. Alors qu'Ae. aegypti ne vit que dans des zones tropicales et subtropicales, Ae. albopictus se rencontre aussi dans des régions tempérées et même froides. Ces dernières décenniesAe. albopictus s'est propagé de l'Asie à certaines zones de l'Afrique, de l'Europe et des Amériques.

L'espèce Ae. albopictus prolifère dans des sites de reproduction contenant de l'eau beaucoup plus variés qu'Ae. aegypti, notamment dans des coquilles de noix de coco, des cabosses de cacao, des souches de bambou, des cavités d'arbres et des anfractuosités de roches, en plus des récipients artificiels tels que pneus de véhicules et soucoupes placées sous des pots de fleurs.

Cette diversité d'habitats explique l'abondance d'Ae. albopictus dans les zones rurales aussi bien que périurbaines et dans les parcs ombragés des villes. Ae. aegypti est davantage associé aux habitations humaines et utilise des sites de reproduction intérieurs, notamment des vases à fleurs, des citernes d'eau et des réservoirs d'eau en béton dans les salles de bain, ainsi que dans les mêmes habitats artificiels extérieurs qu'Ae. albopictus.

En Afrique, plusieurs autres moustiques vecteurs ont été impliqués dans la transmission de la maladie, notamment les espèces du groupe A. furcifer-taylori et A. luteocephalus. Il semblerait que certains animaux, y compris non-primates, des rongeurs, des oiseaux et de petits mammifères servent de réservoir.

Le Chickungunya 

 Épidémies de dengue et de chikungunya en Thaïlande...


En Thaïlande, les autorités sanitaires ont notifié une augmentation de l'incidence de la dengue et du chikungunya dans le pays.

A. La dengue

Du 1er janvier au 10 décembre 2018, les autorités sanitaires thaïlandaises ont notifié, 80 065 cas de dengue dont 107 décès, dans les 77 provinces du pays. Cela représente une augmentation de 50 % par rapport à la même période l'année 2017.

Les cinq taux de morbidité les plus importants proviennent de la province de Nakhon Pathom (321 cas pour 100 000 habitants), la province de Nakon Sawan (258 cas pour 100 000 habitants), la province de Nakhon SI Thammarat (245 cas pour 100 000 habitants), la province de Nakhon Nayok (232 cas pour 100 000 habitants), la province de Chiang Rai (230 cas pour 100 000 habitants).

B. Le chikungunya

Dans les provinces du sud de la Thaïlande en un mois, le nombre de cas a quadruplé, passant de 538 à 2 143 d'ici le 10 décembre 2018.

Aucun décès n'a été notifié.

Dans 13 provinces des cas ont été notifiés. La province de Songkla, la province de Satun, la province de Narathiwat, la province de Pattani et la province de Phuket rapportent la plus grande incidence.

Le nombre des infections à virus Chikungunya augmente, en particulier, dans les zones densément peuplées.

C. Conseils aux voyageurs

Il n'existe pas de traitement spécifique contre ces virus. Pour les touristes européens, la prévention de la dengue et du chikungunya passent donc par la lutte contre le vecteur Aedes albopictus. Le moyen le plus efficace pour combattre ce moustique est d'éliminer ses lieux de ponte (soucoupes, petits récipients, déchets, réservoirs, vases, pneus, etc.).

Il est conseillé aux voyageurs de se protéger des piqûres de moustique. Il convient de respecter les mesures habituelles de lutte anti-vectorielle :

port de vêtements couvrants ;
répulsifs anti-moustiques, contenant du DEET, sur la peau découverte ;
vêtements et moustiquaire imprégnés d'insecticide pour la sieste et la nuit ;
les personnes qui utilisent un écran solaire doivent appliquer le répulsif 20 minutes après l'écran solaire.
Afin d'éviter au maximum la dissémination du virus de la dengue sur le territoire métropolitain, devant une fièvre d'apparition brutale et des douleurs articulaires ou musculaires dans les 15 jours qui suivent le retour d'un voyage en zone à risque, il faut consulter son médecin au plus vite en signalant son voyage.


Source : Outbreak News Today.
www.mesvaccins.net

Faire "nettoyer"votre lieu de séjour

 Le Chikungunya - Explication 

Chikungunya moustique tigre

Le chikungunya est une maladie virale transmise par des moustiques décrite pour la première fois à l'occasion d'une flambée dans le sud de la Tanzanie en 1952. Il s'agit d'un alphavirus de la famille des togaviridés. Le nom de «chikungunya» vient d'un verbe de la langue kimakonde qui signifie «devenir tordu»" ce qui décrit l'apparence voûtée de ceux qui souffrent de douleurs articulaires. Le virus peut causer une maladie aiguë, subaiguë ou chronique.Signes et symptômes

Le chikungunya se caractérise par l'apparition brutale de fièvre souvent accompagnée d'arthralgie. Les autres signes et symptômes communs sont notamment myalgies, céphalées, nausée, fatigue et éruption. L'arthralgie est souvent invalidante, mais elle disparaît généralement au bout de quelques jours ou de quelques semaines. La plupart des patients se rétablissent complètement, mais dans certains cas l'arthralgie peut persister pendant plusieurs mois ou même plusieurs années.

On a signalé des cas occasionnels de complications oculaires, neurologiques et cardiaques, ainsi que des douleurs gastro-intestinales. Les complications graves ne sont pas fréquentes, mais chez les personnes âgées la maladie peut contribuer à la cause du décès. Les symptômes sont souvent légers chez les personnes infectées et l'infection peut passer inaperçue ou faire l'objet d'un diagnostic erroné dans les zones où sévit la dengue.

Transmission

Le chikungunya a été identifié dans une soixantaine de pays d’Asie, d’Afrique, d’Europe, mais aussi des Amériques.

Le virus est transmis d'un être humain à l'autre par les piqûres de moustiques femelles infectées. Les moustiques incriminés sont le plus souvent Aedes aegypti et Aedes albopictus, 2 espèces qui peuvent également transmettre d'autres virus, notamment la dengue. Ces moustiques sont susceptibles de piquer pendant la journée, bien que leur activité maximale se situe surtout tôt le matin et en fin d'après-midi. Les deux espèces piquent à l'extérieur, mais Ae. aegypti le fait aussi volontiers à l'intérieur des bâtiments.

La maladie se manifeste généralement entre 4 et 8 jours après la piqure par un moustique infecté, mais la fourchette peut aller de 2 à 14 jours.

Diagnostic

Plusieurs méthodes de diagnostic peuvent être mises en œuvre. Des tests sérologiques, tels que les tests immunoenzymatiques simples (ELISA), peuvent permettre de confirmer la présence d'anticorps anti-chikungunya IgM et IgG. Les niveaux d'anticorps IgM sont les plus élevés trois à cinq semaines après l'apparition de la maladie et persistent pendant environ deux mois. Le virus peut être isolé à partir du sang au cours des premiers jours de l'infection.

Diverses techniques d'amplification génique transcriptase-inverse (RT-PCR) sont disponibles mais leur sensibilité est variable. Certaines conviennent au diagnostic clinique. Les produits de RT–PCR provenant d'échantillons cliniques peuvent aussi être utilisés pour le typage génique du virus, ce qui permet des comparaisons avec des échantillons de virus de différentes sources géographiques. Les échantillons recueillis au cours de la première semaine suivant l’apparition des symptômes doivent être analysés au moyen de techniques tant sérologiques que virologiques (RT-PCR).

Traitement

Il n'existe pas de médicament spécifique qui permette de guérir la maladie. Le traitement a essentiellement pour but d'atténuer les symptômes, notamment l'arthralgie, au moyen d’antipyrétiques, d’analgésiques et d’un apport optimal de liquides.

Prévention et lutte

La présence de sites de reproduction du moustique vecteur à proximité des lieux d'habitations constitue un sérieux facteur de risque de chikungunya ainsi que d'autres maladies transmises par ces espèces. La prévention et la lutte reposent dans une grande mesure sur la réduction du nombre des récipients naturels et artificiels contenant de l'eau qui favorisent la reproduction des moustiques. Cela passe par la mobilisation des communautés affectées. Lors de flambées épidémiques, on peut pulvériser des insecticides pour tuer les moustiques, en les appliquant sur les surfaces à l'intérieur et autour des récipients où les moustiques se posent, et en traitant l'eau contenue dans ces récipients afin de tuer les larves.

Pour se protéger lors de flambées épidémiques de chikungunya, on recommande de porter des vêtements couvrant le corps au maximum et d'appliquer un répulsif sur les parties exposées ou sur les vêtements, conformément aux instructions qui accompagnent le produit. Les répulsifs doivent contenir du DEET (N, N-diéthyl-3-méthylbenzamide), de l'IR3535 (esther éthylique de l'acide 3-[N-acétyl-N-butyl]-aminopropionique) ou de l'icaridine (1-piperidinecarboxylic acid, 2-(2-hydroxyethyl)-- 1-méthylpropylester). Pour ceux qui dorment pendant la journée, en particulier les jeunes enfants ou les personnes malades ou âgées, les moustiquaires imprégnées d'insecticide assurent une bonne protection. Les spirales anti-moustiques ou d'autres vaporisateurs d'insecticides peuvent aussi réduire les piqures à l'intérieur des bâtiments.

Les personnes voyageant dans des zones à risque doivent prendre des précautions élémentaires, à savoir: utiliser des répulsifs, porter des vêtements à manches longues et des pantalons, et vérifier que les pièces sont équipées de moustiquaires qui empêchent les moustiques d’y pénétrer.

Flambées épidémiques

Le chikungunya est présent en Afrique, en Asie et dans le sous-continent indien. Les infections humaines en Afrique sont restées à des niveaux assez bas pendant un certain nombre d'années, mais en 1999-2000 une flambée importante s'est produite en République démocratique du Congo et en 2007 une flambée s'est déclarée au Gabon.

À partir de février 2005, une importante flambée de chikungunya s'est produite dans les îles de l'Océan indien. Un grand nombre de cas importés en Europe ont été imputés à cette flambée, pour la plupart en 2006 quand l'épidémie de l'Océan indien était à son comble. Une flambée importante de chikungunya est survenue en Inde en 2006 et en 2007. Plusieurs autres pays de l'Asie du Sud-est ont également été affectés. Depuis 2005, l’Inde, l’Indonésie, les Maldives, le Myanmar et la Thaïlande ont signalé 1,9 million de cas.


En 2007, la transmission de la maladie a été signalée pour la première fois en Europe, lors d’une flambée localisée dans le nord-est de l’Italie, au cours de laquelle 197 cas ont été enregistrés, et qui a confirmé que des flambées dues au moustique Ae. Albopictus pouvaient très bien se produire en Europe.

En décembre 2013, la France a signalé 2 cas autochtones confirmés en laboratoire (indigènes) de chikungunya dans la partie française de l'île antillaise de Saint-Martin. Depuis lors, la transmission locale a été confirmée dans plus de 43 pays et territoires des Amériques. Il s'agissait de la première flambée de chikungunya par transmission autochtone documentée dans cette région.

En avril 2015, plus de 1 379 788 cas suspects de chikungunya avaient été enregistrés dans les Caraïbes, dans des pays d’Amérique latine et les États-Unis d’Amérique. 191 décès ont aussi été imputés à cette maladie pendant la même période. Le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis ont aussi relevé des cas importés.

Le 21 octobre 2014, la France a confirmé 4 cas d’infection par le chikungunya contractée localement à Montpellier (France). Fin 2014, des flambées ont été signalées dans les îles du Pacifique. Une flambée de chikungunya a été enregistrée dans les Îles Cook et les Îles Marshall, tandis que le nombre de cas dans les Samoa américaines, la Polynésie française, le Kiribati et les Samoa diminuait. L’OMS est intervenue suite à de petites flambées de chikungunya fin 2015 dans la ville de Dakar (Sénégal) et dans l’État du Punjab (Inde).

Dans les Amériques en 2015, 693 489 cas suspects et 37 480 cas confirmés de chikungunya ont été notifiés à l’Organisation panaméricaine de la Santé, le Bureau régional de l’OMS, la Colombie supportant le plus lourd fardeau avec 356 079 cas. Ces chiffres étaient toutefois inférieurs à ceux de 2014, où l’on avait enregistré plus d’1 million de cas dans cette région.

En 2016, il y a eu au total 349 936 cas suspects et 146 914 cas confirmés en laboratoire notifiés au Bureau régional de l’OPS, soit la moitié du fardeau observé l’année précédente. Les pays ayant notifié le plus de cas ont été le Brésil (265 000 cas suspects), la Bolivie et la Colombie (19 000 cas suspects chacun). On a signalé pour la première fois en 2016 la transmission autochtone du chikungunya en Argentine à la suite d’une flambée de plus de 1000 cas suspects. Dans la Région de l'Afrique, le Kenya a signalé une flambée de chikungunya avec plus de 1700 cas suspects. En 2017, le Pakistan continue de riposter à une flambée qui a démarré en 2016.


About the vectors of the disease

Both Ae. aegypti and Ae. albopictus have been implicated in the major outbreaks of chikungunya. While Ae. aegypti only lives in tropical and subtropical areas, Ae. albopictus also occurs in temperate and even cold regions. In recent decadesAe. albopictus has spread from Asia to parts of Africa, Europe and the Americas.

The species Ae. albopictus proliferates in breeding sites containing much more varied water than Ae. aegypti, including coconut shells, cocoa pods, bamboo stumps, tree cavities and rock crevices, in addition to artificial containers such as vehicle tires and saucers placed under flower pots.

This diversity of habitats explains the abundance of Ae. albopictus in rural as well as peri-urban areas and in shaded city parks. Ae. aegypti is more associated with human habitation and uses indoor breeding sites, including flower vases, water tanks and concrete water tanks in bathrooms, as well as in the same outdoor artificial habitats as Ae. albopictus.

In Africa, several other mosquito vectors have been implicated in the transmission of the disease, including A. furcifer-taylori and A. luteocephalus group species. It seems that some animals, including non-primates, rodents, birds and small mammals are used as reservoirs.